TOM LUMLEY

Tom Lumley photo

INTERVIEW by ZAK SLOMAN

The last couple of years have been quite eventful for Tom Lumley.

Since embarking on a solo career, the Cambridgeshire singer-songwriter has been establishing himself as one of the rising stars of the British underground scene, winning over audiences up and down the country and impressing the music press with an indie rock sound that is fun and energetic.

His EP “Dream City”, released earlier this year, was much acclaimed and got to No. 2 in the UK iTunes Rock Chart.

With a busy summer ahead, including sets at the Splendour Festival in Nottingham and the Tramlines Festival in Sheffield, as well as more music on the way, it is looking like 2017 will go down as a fruitful year for Tom.

He went into more detail about his career so far, influences and all of the above when I spoke to him recently.

What made you want to become a singer-songwriter?

I’ve always been obsessed with music and in bands growing up. When the last band I was in broke up, it just felt right to give a solo career a go.

Which bands/artists have most influenced you?

So many to be honest. From the likes of Guns n’ Roses to Arctic Monkeys to Catfish and The Bottlemen recently, they’ve all had an impact on me.

How would you describe your sound?

Fun, exciting indie rock.

What subjects do you like to cover with your lyrics?

I like to sing about anything relevant to my life or someone in my life, so it really depends what’s going on.

Your EP “Dream City” came out earlier this year. Did you expect the reaction it has had?

Not at all, I’ve been completely overwhelmed. For it to chart the way it did and gain the press it has is more than I ever expected.

Tell us more about your recently released single “Running From Our Lives”.

It’s a song about the world and how we’re all scared to stand up to our problems. I had such a good crowd reaction on tour to this song, so it made sense to make it the next single.

You have a busy summer ahead playing a lot of festivals. How is it for you playing live?

Playing live is what I love, it’s where I feel at home. I don’t think I’ll ever feel what I feel on stage doing anything else. I’m very lucky to have such a great band behind me who feel the same.

What are you planning to do once you’ve done the festivals?

I have a new single coming out on the 28th of September and then we will be touring again in October!

What is your long-term aim? Where would you like to be in, say, five years?

In five years time, I’d like to be playing shows around the world to fans who know my music. The bigger the shows can get, the better. Benicassim and Reading are also on the list for goals in the next five years.

Tom Lumley Cover

“JUST LIKE THE LIGHT”, THE NEW SINGLE FROM TOM LUMLEY, WILL BE RELEASED ON SEPTEMBER 28.

FURTHER INFO ON TOM CAN BE FOUND AT THESE SITES:

FACEBOOK: www.facebook.com/TomLumleyMusic

TWITTER: twitter.com/TomLumleyMusic

YOUTUBE: www.youtube.com

SOUNDCLOUD: soundcloud.com/tomlumleymusic

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

