IAN CARVALHO

ian-carvalho-1

INTERVIEW by ZAK SLOMAN

Brazilian born, Italian raised and now British resident Ian Carvalho was, until recently, the vocalist and percussionist for rock three-piece NOVONADA.

After several albums and tours, the band have decided to take a break, giving Ian the opportunity to develop his solo career.

I sat down and chatted with him about his musical journey so far, and what he hopes to get out of his forthcoming EP ‘Morpheo In Eros’.

You’ve decided to embark on a solo project. How did that come about?

It came into place after the band I used to play with decided to take a break, and for once, I decided to use my real name and surname instead of a pseudonym.

To somebody discovering your music for the first time, how would you describe it?

It’s a melting pot of cultural and musical influences going from traditional South American sonorities to hardcore and punk rock.

What are your musical influences?

In terms of song writing, my major influences came from Fabrizio De André, Raul Seixas and Sid Barrett (funnily enough one for each country I have lived in).

In terms of music, most probably Nine Inch Nails, Tool and At the Drive-in.

What is your approach to songwriting?

Most times, I start from an idea, a sentence from a book I find peculiarly intriguing etc.

That works as an incipit, as something that gives me some food for thought, and from there I develop my writings and lyrics.

Other times I simply get struck by sudden inspiration and the song will come flowing out of my head.

Where does the inspiration come from for your lyrics?

My own heritage is often a part of my lyrics. I’m half Italian, half Brazilian and I had a quite confusing but funny childhood living and travelling between two continents.

That always made me the “new kid”, so to speak, I always saw the relationships and the society from a different perspective and that gave me the chance to develop a certain sensibility toward different lives (in terms of society, traditions, religions and way of living).

I write in English, Italian and Portuguese, sometimes mixing the languages in the same song, because each of them have a slightly different way to express a feeling or an idea.

I’m fascinated by the evocative power of words and by how much a language can describe the history and the type of approach to life of the people using it.

Your debut solo EP is coming out soon. How was the process of recording it?

I wrote the lyrics during the past year or so and then started working on the music.

I spent several months in Florence working with Andrea Nardoni from Relaxo Studio(www.relaxostudio.com), who’s also the co-producer of my 2 EPs.

How is it for you playing live?

My first experience with this new project will be in November.

With my previous band, I toured Italy and South America (mainly Brazil but also Chile, Uruguay and Argentina) and I’m working in order to use the contacts I created back then to go and tour overseas again.

What have you got lined up in the near future?

I’m organising a tour in South America for next year and I’m also getting ready for the gigs that are coming up shortly, next one is the 12th of November at the Finsbury in London.

What is your long-term aim?

Well, to release some new albums and obviously to keep on touring. I’m working towards the organisation of a tour in the U.S. and I would love to tour in Japan one day.

ian-carvalho-2

Leave a Reply

